2019-2020 Calendar

2019-20 HMS School Calendar

Phone: 215-222-2566 Gen’l Fax: 215-222-1889 Nsg. Fax: 215-662-5159

Student Absence Hotline: 215-222-1689 x171
Emergency Weather Info: 215-222-1689 x203
4400 Baltimore Ave. Philadelphia, PA 19104

SEPTEMBER
Wednesday, 9/4/19 Staff/Faculty In-service; no students
Thursday, 9/5/19 Staff/Faculty In-service; no students
Friday, 9/6/19 In-service/Staff training and work day; no students
Sunday, 9/8/19 7-Day Res. students arrive between 12 noon and 7:00 PM
Monday, 9/9/19 5-Day Res. and Day students arrive – FIRST DAY OF CLASSES & THERAPIES

OCTOBER
Thursday, 10/10/19 EARLY DISMISSAL of classes & therapies. Columbus Day recess begins 2:15 PM for students. Parents’ Evening, 3:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Friday, 10/11/19 Staff training and work day; NO classes or therapies
Monday, 10/14/19 Columbus Day Holiday – NO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 10/15/19 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

NOVEMBER
Tuesday, 11/26/19 FULL day of classes & therapies; Thanksgiving recess begins 4:00 PM for students
Students must be picked up from HMS School by 7:00 PM
SCHOOL & RESIDENCE ARE CLOSED TO ALL STUDENTS
FROM 7:00 PM TUESDAY, 11/26 TO 12 NOON SUNDAY, 12/1
Wednesday, 11/27/19 Staff/Faculty In-service – NO classes or therapies

DECEMBER
Sunday, 12/1/19 7-Day Res. students return between 12 noon and 7:00 PM
Monday, 12/2/19 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume
Thursday, 12/19/19 Holiday Program – 12:30
Friday, 12/20/19 EARLY DISMISSAL of classes & therapies; Winter Recess begins 2:15 PM for students
Students must be picked up from HMS School by 4:00 PM
SCHOOL & RESIDENCE ARE CLOSED TO ALL STUDENTS
FROM 4:00 PM FRIDAY, 12/20 TO 12 NOON SUNDAY, 1/5

JANUARY
Sunday, 1/5/20 7-Day Res. students return between 12 noon and 7:00 PM
Monday, 1/6/20 5-Day Res. and Day students & staff/faculty return – Classes & therapies resume
Friday, 1/17/20 FULL DAY of classes & therapies.
Monday, 1/20/20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – NO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 1/21/20 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

FEBRUARY
Thursday, 2/13/20 FULL DAY of classes & therapies.
Friday, 2/14/20 Staff training and work day – NO classes or therapies
Monday, 2/17/20 Presidents’ Day Holiday – NO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 2/18/20 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

MARCH
No holidays or early dismissals

APRIL
Thursday, 4/2/20 EARLY DISMISSAL of classes and therapies; Spring Recess begins 2:15 PM for students
Students must be picked up from HMS School by 7:00 PM
Parents’ Evening, 3:00 PM – 7:00 PM
SCHOOL & RESIDENCE ARE CLOSED TO ALL STUDENTS
FROM 7:00 PM THURSDAY, 4/2 TO 12:00 NOON MONDAY, 4/13
Friday, 4/3/20 Staff/Faculty In-service – NO classes or therapies
Monday, 4/13/20 7-Day Res. students return between 12 noon and 7:00 PM; staff/faculty return
Staff training and work day – NO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 4/14/20 5-Day Res. and Day students & staff/faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

MAY
Friday, 5/22/20 FULL DAY of classes & therapies.
Monday, 5/25/20 Memorial Day Holiday – NO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 5/26/20 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

JUNE
Friday, 6/12 &/or 6/19/20 Graduation ceremonies (TBD)
Wednesday, 6/24/20 LAST DAY OF REGULAR SCHOOL YEAR – FULL DAY of classes & therapies
** Extended School Year (ESY) schedule to be determined

JULY
Friday, 7/3/20 Fourth of July Holiday – NO ESY
Tuesday, 7/14/20 LAST DAY OF RESIDENCE
HMS closes to all resident students at 7:00 PM

** ESY program dates for all school district eligible students to be determined.
If make-up days are needed because of inclement weather or other emergencies, a notice of revised calendar will be issued, and if necessary, start of ESY will be postponed accordingly. Parents and staff should also be aware that needed make-up days may be taken from the end of the scheduled regular school year, scheduled holidays or Spring Break.

2/15/19