2016-2017 Calendar

Month Week Day
April 2017
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
March 27, 2017 March 28, 2017 March 29, 2017 March 30, 2017 March 31, 2017 April 1, 2017 April 2, 2017
April 3, 2017 April 4, 2017 April 5, 2017

Category: GeneralExpressive Arts Festival

Expressive Arts Festival
April 6, 2017

Category: GeneralEarly Dismissal

Early Dismissal

Category: GeneralParents' Evening

Parents' Evening
April 7, 2017

Category: GeneralNo School- Staff In-service

No School- Staff In-service
April 8, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 9, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 10, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 11, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 12, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 13, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 14, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 15, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 16, 2017

Category: GeneralSpring Break

Spring Break
April 17, 2017

Category: GeneralNo School- Staff Work Day

No School- Staff Work Day
April 18, 2017 April 19, 2017 April 20, 2017 April 21, 2017 April 22, 2017 April 23, 2017

Category: GeneralSibShop

SibShop
April 24, 2017 April 25, 2017 April 26, 2017 April 27, 2017 April 28, 2017 April 29, 2017 April 30, 2017

Phone: 215-222-2566
Gen’l Fax: 215-222-1889
Nsg. Fax: 215-662-5159

Student Absence Hotline: 215-222-1689 x171

Emergency Weather Info: 215-222-1689 x203

4400 Baltimore Ave. Philadelphia, PA 19104    hmsschool.org

SEPTEMBER

Wednesday, 9/7/16- Staff/Faculty In-service; no students
Thursday, 9/8/16- Staff/Faculty In-service; no students
Friday, 9/9/16- In-service/Staff training and work day; no students
Sunday, 9/11/16- 7-Day Res. students arrive between 12 noon and 7:00 PM
Monday, 9/12/16- 5-Day Res. and Day students arrive – FIRST DAY OF CLASSES & THERAPIES

OCTOBER
Thursday, 10/6/16 –EARLY DISMISSAL of classes & therapies. Columbus Day recess begins 2:15 PM for students. Parents’ Evening, 3:00 PM – 7:00 PM
Friday, 10/7/16- Staff training and work day; NO classes or therapies
Monday, 10/10/16- Columbus Day HolidayNO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 10/11/16- 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

NOVEMBER
Tuesday, 11/22/16 –FULL day of classes & therapies; Thanksgiving recess begins 4:00 PM for students
Students must be picked up from HMS School by 7:00 PM

SCHOOL & RESIDENCE ARE CLOSED TO ALL STUDENTS
FROM 7:00 PM TUESDAY, 11/22 TO 12 NOON SUNDAY, 11/27

Wednesday, 11/23/16- Staff/Faculty In-service – NO classes or therapies
Sunday, 11/27/16- 7-Day Res. students return between 12 noon and 7:00 PM
Monday, 11/28/16- 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

DECEMBER
Thursday, 12/15/16 -Holiday Program – 1:00 PM
Friday, 12/16/16- EARLY DISMISSAL of classes & therapies; Winter Recess begins 2:15 PM for students
Students must be picked up from HMS School by 4:00 PM

SCHOOL & RESIDENCE ARE CLOSED TO ALL STUDENTS
FROM 4:00 PM FRIDAY, 12/16 TO 8:00 AM TUESDAY, 1/3

JANUARY
Tuesday, 1/3/17- 7-Day Res. students return after 8:00 AM;
5-Day Res. and Day students & staff/faculty return – Classes & therapies resume
Friday, 1/13/17- FULL DAY of classes & therapies.
Monday, 1/16/17- Martin Luther King, Jr. HolidayNO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 1/17/17 -5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

FEBRUARY
Thursday, 2/16/17- FULL DAY of classes & therapies.
Friday, 2/17/17- Staff training and work day – NO classes or therapies
Monday, 2/20/17- Presidents’ Day HolidayNO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 2/21/17- 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

MARCH Full month of classes and therapies

APRIL
Thursday, 4/6/17 –EARLY DISMISSAL of classes and therapies; Spring Recess begins 2:15 PM for students
Students must be picked up from HMS School by 7:00 PM
Parents’ Evening, 3:00 PM – 7:00 PM

SCHOOL & RESIDENCE ARE CLOSED TO ALL STUDENTS
FROM 7:00 PM THURSDAY, 4/6 TO 12 NOON MONDAY, 4/17

Friday, 4/7//17 Staff/Faculty In-service – NO classes or therapies
Monday, 4/17/17 7-Day Res. Students return between 12 noon and 7:00 pm; staff/faculty return
Staff training and work day – NO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 4/18/17 5-Day Res. and Day students return – classes and therapies resume

MAY
Friday, 5/26/17 FULL DAY of classes & therapies.
Monday, 5/29/17 Memorial Day HolidayNO classes or therapies
Tuesday, 5/30/17 5-Day Res. and Day students & faculty return – Classes & therapies resume

JUNE
Friday, 6/2/17 and 6/9/17 Graduation ceremonies
Thursday, 6/29/17 LAST DAY OF REGULAR SCHOOL YEAR – FULL DAY of classes & therapies
** Extended School Year (ESY) schedule to be determined

JULY
Tuesday, 7/4/17 Fourth of July HolidayNO ESY
Wednesday, 7/19/17 LAST DAY OF RESIDENCE
HMS closes to all resident students at 7:00 PM
** ESY program dates for all school district eligible students to be determined.

If make-up days are needed because of inclement weather or other emergencies, a notice of revised calendar will be issued, and if necessary, start of ESY will be postponed accordingly. Parents and staff should also be aware that needed make-up days may be taken from the end of the scheduled regular school year, scheduled holidays or Spring Break.